top of page
  • leeshac

The Only Pizza Dough Recipe You'll Ever Need


This pizza dough recipe is seriously the best. It was stolen/borrowed :) from my Mom and it has been my go-to for many years. We recently discovered a secret ingredient that makes it even more awesome, but more on that later!


Here is what you'll need for the original recipe...


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup warm water

  • 1 Tbsp yeast

  • 1 tsp sugar

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

  • 2 Tbsp oil


Directions:

  1. Dissolve sugar and salt in warm water.

  2. Add yeast, and let it sit for about 5 minutes/until foamy.

  3. When the yeast has foamed add your oil and stir.

  4. Add flour and knead until smooth.

  5. Cover with clean dish towel and let rise in warm spot until doubled in size (about 40 minutes to an hour).

  6. Roll out dough and top with desired toppings.

  7. Bake at 450* for 15-20 minutes.

Now for the super not-so-secret ingredient! If you happened to check out my yogurt making post you already know the secret. There is no WHEY you would guess otherwise ;)


Yes, the secret is replacing the warm water in the original recipe with the whey you strained from your homemade greek yogurt! I'm sure you could also purchase whey somewhere if you don't make your own yogurt, although I have never done this, so I don't know where one would buy whey ( please let me know if you do!) Just make sure you warm it up enough so the sugar and salt can dissolve before you add your yeast.


I don't know the science behind it, but using whey instead of plain water makes the dough extra airy and light. I didn't think there was any WHEY this recipe could get any better, but I was wrong. (That will be my last whey pun I promise!)


*If you're wondering why my dough looks brown, that is because we decided to experiment this time and use Young Living's Einkorn flour. Einkorn is an ancient grain that contains less gluten and more vitamins and minerals than normal whole wheat. If you're looking for a healthier dough option, then Einkorn flour may be for you! It was nice to work with, and rolled out really well, but it wasn't as airy and light as all purpose flour would have been. (Probably due to the lower gluten content). That being said, the pizza was still delicious and a little bit healthier thanks to Einkorn flour! You can browse some of Young Living's Einkorn products here. (You will have more Einkorn product options if you shop the US catalog).


Last but definitely not least, you can now find videos of my sweet girl making this pizza and other goodies over in the Little Chef section. Check her out!





84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page